The following legislation and codes of practice relating to diversity

The following legislation and codes of practice relating to diversity, equality, inclusion and discrimination in adult social care settings are to promote equality, diversity and discrimination. These include;
The Equality Act 2010
The Health and Social Care Act 2012
The Disability Discrimination Act 2005,
The Special Educational Needs & Disability Act 2001,
Racial Relations Amendment act 2003,
Human Rights Act 1998,
Sexual Discrimination Act 1975,
Employment Equality Regulations Act 2003

These legislations and national minimum standards are set out by Government Bodies, to promote equality, diversity and eliminate discriminations which must be followed by all service providers
All come under the umbrella ‘Equalities act 2010’, also the national minimum standards and codes of practice set out by various governing bodies. The aim of these legislations are to promote equality of opportunity for all regardless of age, sexuality, disabilities, race, gender, or any other differences. The legislations sets the standard on the way organisations provide and organise their services. The way the care workers and practitioners approach their working practices, if these legislations and standards are to be followed this ensures all the service users are treated with the same levels of care and no preferential treatment is given to any individual.
Few of the codes of practices, relating to these legislations are as follows;
An authority cannot discriminate against anyone because of their sex, marital status and gender reassignment
The Equality Act 2010 makes it unlawful to treat any individual less favourably than others because of individual’s disability.
Any authority must made necessary adjustment to accommodate for an individual with disability or special needs while accessing services

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now